• Skip to main content
  • Skip to primary sidebar
  • Skip to footer

Hayle Heritage Centre

Visit Us For Free!
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • About Us
    • What we do
    • John Harvey House Renovation Project
    • Volunteering
    • Events
    • Talks and Tours
    • Our Blog
    • History of the Trust
    • Churks, Clidgy & Doodle-Dashers Third Edition – Now for sale online!
  • Industrial Heritage
    • Engineering
    • Shipping
    • World Heritage Status
  • Collections
    • Introduction
    • Research Service
    • Hayle in 20 Objects
    • Oral History Collection
    • Pre-history
    • New Exhibition
    • Previous exhibitions
    • Online exhibitions
    • Hayle Community Archive
    • Conservation
  • Educational Resources
    • Maps & Trails
    • Accessible Learning
  • Visit Us
    • Getting here
    • Facilities and access
    • Shop
You are here: Home / Our Blog / General News / Direct descendants of James “Tinman” Pool visit Hayle Heritage Centre

Direct descendants of James “Tinman” Pool visit Hayle Heritage Centre

  September 1, 2023    Daisy Culmer

Last month, the Heritage Centre was thrilled to welcome Ingrid Hopkins (née Pool) and her son James, on holiday researching their family history. Many visitors come in to see us with fascinating stories and theirs is certainly no exception…

Ingrid is the great, great-granddaughter of James “Tinman” Pool founder of J & F Pool. He was the father of James and Frederick Pool who, after working in the mining industry in South Africa, returned to Hayle and expanded the company. Her great-grandfather is Frederick Pool.

Ingrid and James
James Hopkins and his mother Ingrid Hopkins, with a portrait of Frederick Pool, Ingrid’s Great Grandfather.

Ingrid’s father was Frederick Dennis Pool, who was born in 1903, known to his family as Dennis. Dennis’ father was Frederick Rouse Pool, born in 1872. Frederick Rouse Pool was the eldest son of Frederick Pool, son of James “Tinman” Pool.

Ingrid and her son James made the journey down to Cornwall – and to Hayle – to learn more about their ancestors and their incredible accomplishments. These included the production of a huge range of now-collectable Art Nouveau-esque copperware, the patenting of the “Superfex” screen and their famous perforated screens.

Copper
A coal bucket, from the J & F Pool 1910 catalogue.
Superfex
J & F Pool’s “Superfex” on a crane at Hayle Train Station.

Ingrid and James spent some time sharing stories and learning about their family’s history and their impact on the town of Hayle. They were shown several J & F Pool objects from our collection and an original painting of Frederick Pool that we believe hung in the J & F Pool Director’s Office; this was located in the building that houses Down the Line surf shop in Copperhouse.

It was a real privilege to meet Ingrid and James, and we wish them all the best in their ongoing family history research!

  General News  

Primary Sidebar

Temporarily Closed

Hayle Heritage Centre is now closed to start our renovation project, and we are developing exciting activities for 2025.

If you would like to stay informed you can sign up for our newsletter, by emailing daisy@harveysfoundrytrust.org.uk.

Blog Categories

  • General News (33)
  • Renovation Project (1)

Recent Blog Posts

  • Hayle’s stories in stitch
  • Preparing for Lime Plaster the Traditional Way…One of 23,000 Nails at a Time
  • Ships in stitch: Making fabric collage ship portraits with Textile Artist Elizabeth Loveday
  • Restoration Update: Fascinating Discoveries Inside the Drawing Office
  • Walking and storytelling: Building the Banner

Our Contact Details

Hayle Heritage Centre
Harvey’s Foundry Trust
John Harvey House,
24 Foundry Square
Hayle, Cornwall,
TR27 4HH

Tel: 01736 757683
Email: enquiries@hayleheritagecentre.org.uk

Footer

Contact Us

Hayle Heritage Centre
Harvey’s Foundry Trust
John Harvey House,
24 Foundry Square
Hayle, Cornwall
TR27 4HH

Tel: 01736 757683
Email: enquiries@hayleheritagecentre.org.uk

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter

OUR LOCATION

Content © Hayle Heritage Centre
Hayle Heritage Centre is owned by Harvey’s Foundry Trust. The Trust is a UK Registered Charity no. 1112920
Privacy Policy | Cookie Policy

Supported by the Heritage Lottery Fund

Website Sitemap | Admin
Website designed & developed by Fibonacci Designs

 Menu

  • About Us
    • What we do
    • John Harvey House Renovation Project
    • Volunteering
    • Events
    • Talks and Tours
    • Our Blog
    • History of the Trust
    • Churks, Clidgy & Doodle-Dashers Third Edition – Now for sale online!
  • Industrial Heritage
    • Engineering
    • Shipping
    • World Heritage Status
  • Collections
    • Introduction
    • Research Service
    • Hayle in 20 Objects
    • Oral History Collection
    • Pre-history
    • New Exhibition
    • Previous exhibitions
    • Online exhibitions
    • Hayle Community Archive
    • Conservation
  • Educational Resources
    • Maps & Trails
    • Accessible Learning
  • Visit Us
    • Getting here
    • Facilities and access
    • Shop