• Skip to main content
  • Skip to primary sidebar
  • Skip to footer

Hayle Heritage Centre

Visit Us For Free!
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • About Us
    • What we do
    • John Harvey House Renovation Project
    • Volunteering
    • Events
    • Talks and Tours
    • Our Blog
    • History of the Trust
    • Churks, Clidgy & Doodle-Dashers Third Edition – Now for sale online!
  • Industrial Heritage
    • Engineering
    • Shipping
    • World Heritage Status
  • Collections
    • Introduction
    • Research Service
    • Hayle in 20 Objects
    • Oral History Collection
    • Pre-history
    • New Exhibition
    • Previous exhibitions
    • Online exhibitions
    • Hayle Community Archive
    • Conservation
  • Educational Resources
    • Maps & Trails
    • Accessible Learning
  • Visit Us
    • Getting here
    • Facilities and access
    • Shop
You are here: Home / Our Blog / General News / The Cunaide Stone moves into place!

The Cunaide Stone moves into place!

  June 4, 2025    Daisy Culmer

Last week, the 5th Century inscribed Cunaide Stone was moved downstairs, where it will form the centrepiece of our revised Early History display, part of our 2026 relaunch.

Huge thanks are due to our building contractors Jewell Construction for carefully moving the stone into place.

The stone was discovered lying east to west underground on The Plantation (once an Iron Age hillfort) in 1843 by Harvey & Co. workmen. Discovered in pieces, it was dug up and put on display there, where in remained until 2017.

At that point, Hayle Heritage Centre – working in partnership with Historic England – was granted Scheduled Monument Consent and the stone was brought indoors, in order to preserve and protect the stone which had long been listed ‘at risk’.

Assisted by Heritage Centre volunteers, specialist stone conservators Kelland Conservation carried out remedial conservation work.

With the faint inscription free of mud and lichen, Digital Archaeologist Tom Goskar carried out close-range laser scanning and photogrammetry to digitally preserve the inscription, which was (in places) only a millimetre in depth.

A scan of The Cunaide Stone, made by Digital Archaeologist Tom Goskar in 2018, highlighting the stone’s inscription.

The stone was moved upstairs, where it was on display to the public until late-2023. However, the building was then placed on the Heritage at Risk Register and our usable exhibition space was limited to the ground floor only. The stone has therefore been inaccessible – accept by appointment – since then.

Now, thanks to a grant from the National Lottery Heritage Fund, John Harvey House is undergoing essential refurbishment work. This work involves the creation of a new exhibition space in the “cellar” – a large portion of the ground floor. The ceiling beams in this space were comprised of Barlow Rail from the original West Cornwall Railway line, constructed between Truro and Penzance in the late 1840s with the Chief Engineer being Isambard Kingdom Brunel. Use of the rail was cost-saving at first; due to its unique shape, Barlow Rail could be laid directly in the ballast without the need for sleepers. However, problems soon occurred wherein the shifting ballast caused several serious (though fortunately non-fatal) derailments. Brunel’s vision had failed, and the track was steadily replaced. Harvey & Co. repurposed the redundant Barlow Rail in their building practice, including here in the cellar at 24 Foundry Square.

 

Sketch of The Cunaide Stone by Cornish Archaeological Artist J T Blight (1835-1911). Image © The Morrab Library

With support from Historic England, the Barlow Rail – which had been causing major structural issues – has now been replaced. A section of rail has been preserved and will be interpreted within the new displays. The cellar will become our Early History exhibition space, in which the Cunaide Stone will sit centre stage.

The Cunaide Stone in position in what will become our new Early History permanent exhibition.

Opening late summer 2026. Watch this space!

  General News  

Primary Sidebar

Temporarily Closed

Hayle Heritage Centre is now closed to start our renovation project, and we are developing exciting activities for 2025.

If you would like to stay informed you can sign up for our newsletter, by emailing daisy@harveysfoundrytrust.org.uk.

Blog Categories

  • General News (33)
  • Renovation Project (1)

Recent Blog Posts

  • Hayle’s stories in stitch
  • Preparing for Lime Plaster the Traditional Way…One of 23,000 Nails at a Time
  • Ships in stitch: Making fabric collage ship portraits with Textile Artist Elizabeth Loveday
  • Restoration Update: Fascinating Discoveries Inside the Drawing Office
  • Walking and storytelling: Building the Banner

Our Contact Details

Hayle Heritage Centre
Harvey’s Foundry Trust
John Harvey House,
24 Foundry Square
Hayle, Cornwall,
TR27 4HH

Tel: 01736 757683
Email: enquiries@hayleheritagecentre.org.uk

Footer

Contact Us

Hayle Heritage Centre
Harvey’s Foundry Trust
John Harvey House,
24 Foundry Square
Hayle, Cornwall
TR27 4HH

Tel: 01736 757683
Email: enquiries@hayleheritagecentre.org.uk

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter

OUR LOCATION

Content © Hayle Heritage Centre
Hayle Heritage Centre is owned by Harvey’s Foundry Trust. The Trust is a UK Registered Charity no. 1112920
Privacy Policy | Cookie Policy

Supported by the Heritage Lottery Fund

Website Sitemap | Admin
Website designed & developed by Fibonacci Designs

 Menu

  • About Us
    • What we do
    • John Harvey House Renovation Project
    • Volunteering
    • Events
    • Talks and Tours
    • Our Blog
    • History of the Trust
    • Churks, Clidgy & Doodle-Dashers Third Edition – Now for sale online!
  • Industrial Heritage
    • Engineering
    • Shipping
    • World Heritage Status
  • Collections
    • Introduction
    • Research Service
    • Hayle in 20 Objects
    • Oral History Collection
    • Pre-history
    • New Exhibition
    • Previous exhibitions
    • Online exhibitions
    • Hayle Community Archive
    • Conservation
  • Educational Resources
    • Maps & Trails
    • Accessible Learning
  • Visit Us
    • Getting here
    • Facilities and access
    • Shop